The Last Quilt

Tomorrow I go to Folsom to hang my quilt show! I can’t believe the day is finally here. This has been a wonderful almost-year-long challenge to make 20 quilts for this exhibition. I loved almost every minute of it. From the ideas that came flowing freely–many times during church my eyes would light upon a verse that it seemed I had never seen before and had fresh and new meaning for me. Or sometimes the fabric or the thread would start the idea, and I would find just the right phrase (or chapter!) to embroider on that quilt.

I finished the final five quilts shortly after Christmas. Tonight I went over all the quilts, checking for uncut threads, and then rolled them up for the trip tomorrow. (I roll them on those foam ‘noodles’ that they sell for the pool in the summertime. That keeps them from getting creases. And hopefully, keeps them from getting any dog hair on them…)

Here is the very last quilt I did:

IMG_8596

 

 

 

 

And some close-ups of the quilting:

IMG_8597

 

My BF encouraged me to quilt around the lettering to give it some definition. I had never done this before, and I really like the way it looks.

IMG_8598

If you are in the area, the quilts will be on exhibit at Oak Hills Church in Folsom, CA, from January 6 until February 10. I will be at Oak Hills on January 27 from 1-3pm for a small reception. I’d love to see you there!

4 thoughts on “The Last Quilt

  1. Debbie this is a huge achievement and I appreciate the persistence and faithfulness to complete all the quilts on time. I hope many people come to view and appreciate you beautiful work. I totally agree that quilting around the words makes them “pop” nicely.

    Blessings

  2. I got the biggest tickle from your verse!! That’s the very verse I am currently memorizing. Hmmm… wonder which translation you got YOURS from…oh, the quilters Bible, mwa ha ha ha. Love it!

    And yes, your friend was so right. That outlining makes the lettering seem subtly embossed.
    What a huge achievement… may the Lord bless this show!!

Leave a Reply

