Raw Edge Log Cabin

IMG_9120

 

I’ve finished the blocks for the raw edge log cabin. Now I have to figure out how to connect them together. I am thinking about just getting a pretty fabric for the backing and sewing them directly onto that without batting. That would still make it three layers (logs, muslin base, and backing fabric) and it would be a lightweight throw for the summer. Plus, I am trying to decide if I want to add some borders to enlarge it. I have some promising fabrics in mind.

IMG_9138

Did I tell you I found some bird fabric and made them the center of half the blocks? That was fun!

IMG_9130

In other news, I am now officially a magazine columnist! Thank you to The Quilt Life for the opportunity to write for them! Every issue features a cooking contest between Alex and Ricky, and I write about my view on the recipes, sometimes adding a few tips for living a healthy quilting life.

quilt_life_cover

6 thoughts on “Raw Edge Log Cabin

  1. This is turning out so fun and whimsical. I love those little birdie centers. 🙂
    Just one opinion: to me it seems it would look good with a border. All the little colorful blocks, and a border would sort of be like a frame finishing off a busy painting. To tie it all together. Then again, I’ve seen some of your other work done quite unorthodox, and they were terrific! I look forward to seeing what you do with this one.

    • I love bird fabrics. One of them is ‘nature inspired’ by wyndham fabrics. and the other is ‘garden wall collection’ by Laura Gunn for Michael Miller. I probably found both of them in Sisters and Bend, Oregon.

    • Isn’t it funny how those colors were what I chose for that knitted bathmat? I think I was going for mostly blue for the bathmat and added the orange/yellow as a little contrast.

Leave a Reply

