Quilt Workshop!

I almost forgot to write about the great quilt workshop I went to last weekend! It was Alex Anderson’s classic Stars workshop. It was a perfect getaway. Alex holds her workshops in the beautiful Alden Lane Nursery. The people at the nursery are so friendly and accommodating. They provided us with a wonderful gourmet luncheon held in the greenhouse each day.

But back to the quilting! Alex is a wonderful teacher. She knows what she’s talking about, but has such a friendly and relatable manner that it makes you feel relaxed even as you learn new techniques. This was just what I wanted for this weekend. A lot of creativity and NO stress!

I used to love making stars. They were one of the first things I fell in love with after I started quilting. But for the last year I’ve been working on more abstract and improvisational quilts, and working on points and matching seams were a far cry from what I’d been doing.

Alex led us through a series of exercises, doing increasingly difficult stars. Here’s what I was able to do in 3 days!

IMG_9143

I’m very proud of that one Le Moyne star! I followed her directions exactly, and what do you know? It worked! The stars are laid out on the focus fabric I chose. I really love this poppy fabric, and I am hoping to make a new quilt for my bed with the poppies in the background and the stars kind of floating on top. We’ll see if that works out.

I came home and started working on the raw edge log cabin, so the stars are waiting on the sidelines right now. I’m getting close to finishing that log cabin quilt, so I’ll be back to share that with you in a day or two. Or three :))

One thought on “Quilt Workshop!

Leave a Reply

