Still Hooking

I am much encouraged by the progress I have made on my rug, and I’ve decided that there is a chance that I will finish it by the Biennial Celebration in Long Beach at the end of September, so I am going to make rug hooking my priority for the next month. That means quilting goes on the back burner. This worries me a bit, but sometimes taking a little break brings some clarity in the direction your work is taking.

Here is the “fish” part of the rug, with the sky filled in. I knew I was running short of the mottled pale blue and white wool, and so drew a line in close to the sea. Originally I thought that I would fill in with sunset or sunrise colors. But as soon as I drew the line, I knew that that was where the “distant ocean” needed to be, so that is being filled in with a deep dark mottled blue. So fun to make discoveries like this.

IMG_9911

And here is all the mottled blue wool that I had leftover!

IMG_9909

Some close-ups:

IMG_9915

 

IMG_9916

And to keep my hand in quilting, I have this little quilt that I have been working on:

IMG_9874

All the mosaic pieces are hand-stitched with perle cotton in blanket stitch. I love the way it looks, but it is time consuming. A lot more will be added to this quilt. I think that I will be doing a lot of beading on it too.

IMG_9875

Oh, and I started this idea of doing a value study quilt only in neutrals, using some of the strip piecing techniques I learned from Nancy Crow.

IMG_9888

Beginning blocks:

IMG_9905

As I asked my BF: exactly WHY am I working in neutrals, when I love color so much? Still, I think it might be an interesting learning project, so I might do a bit of this in between the hooking!

 

2 thoughts on “Still Hooking

  1. You know, I thought the sheep rug was my favorite, but this fish one, with the waves and the movement of the fish and the water? I love it. You have such amazing talent!

  2. I love this fish design, too. Can’t wait to see how it looks finished. And I looked again at the last post, to enjoy those 2 pics of the scrap doodled squares… and was surprised to see I hadn’t left a comment… I thought I had! So… I loved those!!! The simplicity of the tiny blocks of color, the contrast between where you placed the lights and darks, even the colors you chose… they are so “happy” looking.

Leave a Reply

