Finishing Quilts

Wow, I had a hard time photographing this quilt. I tried so many different settings on my camera. In the end, I think it was maybe the computer, and not my camera, that was having a hard time with the all the white.

DSCN0640

Anyway, this will be the “header” for the series of quilts called “The Signature of Jesus.” Most of the quilts will simply be a cross with the words “God so loved the world” embroidered on the quilt.

For this one I had the idea of asking various friends what the cross really meant to them (not a theological explanation, just a personal thought or feeling.) I don’t have that many friends, so I did get some of the words from my other “friends”–some of my favorite authors : )

DSCN0632

I enjoyed working on this quilt from start to finish. I enjoyed choosing pairs of fabric for each cross. I free-cut the rectangles and the strips for each cross.  And again free cut each rectangle and inserted the strips of the cross.

Then of course, after I put them in a grid on the design wall, I had to make them all fit together. That was probably the hardest part, but it really isn’t that hard. It does involve a little math : )

DSCN0629

Once the top was put together and the quilt sandwich was assembled, I machine basted it, and also quilted the outlines of each rectangle and cross.

THEN, I embroidered the words under each cross. I had more than 16 words, and so I used my sketchbook to decide which words to use and where each word would go, and also as a reference so that I wouldn’t repeat any words!

DSCN0630

Then I embroidered the large words “The Signature of Jesus” across the top. You might still be able to see the blue pen (disappears with cold water) that I used to draw the lines for the writing. I like to use lines when I want the writing to be straight and even. For the smaller words, I use Gwen Marston’s trick of making a line with a ruler and my thumbnail! You would be surprised at how long a crease made with your fingernail will stay in the fabric.

I really enjoyed machine quilting the background of each cross. I matched the thread color to the fabric, and basically quilted around the motifs of each fabric.

DSCN0614

And last, I machine quilted the close lines. I free-motion quilt the straight lines, because I like the organic look of them.

DSCN0631

I bound it using the method where you bring the backing fabric around to the front. And I was reminded once again that I do not care for this method. It seems like it would save time, but I don’t believe that it is any faster than traditional binding.

And on to the next project!

6 thoughts on “Finishing Quilts

  1. Hi Debbie, I just found this beautiful quilt of yours by googling “cross quilt.”
    A friend of mine has pancreatic cancer and I’m looking for a nice quilt to make her for comfort. Would you mind if I sort of copy your idea of this quilt? I’m at a loss as to how to encourage her, but your quilt is wonderful and will be dear to her, I think, if I can do justice to it. Please let me know what you think.

    • Oh, of course! I’d love to see what you come up with. This one was fun to do, because I just chose fabrics I loved, and then talked to people I loved to see what their response to the cross was.

      I did a whole series of cross quilts. If you search “The Signature of Jesus” on this blog, you’ll probably see most of them.

Leave a Reply

