A Couple of Most Worthy Shops

I got the chance to visit a couple of really great shops on this last trip, and thought I would share those experiences here, just in case any of you might be in that area of Texas and looking for a fix! Lone Star Quiltworks is right in the town where my friend lives–College Station, TX. Their website says they have 5000 bolts of fabric, and I believe it. Best of all was the layout of the store. Open and airy, with really great lighting. You could see all the fabric easily. The sales ladies were helpful and friendly, but not overbearing. It made for a really nice shopping experience.

IMG_0417

Best of all, they had a full cabinet of my favorite perle cotton thread–Finca. It comes in a huge variety of colors, and they even had a good selection of size 5 and size 3 perle cotton. I mostly work with size 8, but its nice to have some thicker threads once in a while.

IMG_0424

The next day my friend took me over to a neighboring town, Navasota. W.C. Mercantile is a wonderful knitting and spinning shop. The young proprietress had a wonderful color sense, and she specialized in making wonderful multi-color batts that could be used for spinning or felting. She had gone to the Houston quilt show with the batts, showing quilters how they could incorporate this special felt into their quilting.

IMG_0431

IMG_0432

After we had our fill of shopping at MC Mercantile, we headed about 5 miles out of town to a truly wonderful sandwich and pie shop, Love Pies.

IMG_0436

Honestly, that was one of the most delicious sandwiches I’ve ever had, and followed up by one of their mini-pies, with a cup of really great coffee–what a wonderful experience.

IMG_0438

And now I’m home again, starting to get my studio into shape. I’ve sewed one whole seam since I’ve been home. Maybe tomorrow will be the day….

2 thoughts on “A Couple of Most Worthy Shops

  1. I’m so glad you liked these stores! Every time I’d go to either of them, I kept thinking you needed to see them. 🙂 The thread picture of you still cracks me up. BTW, what size was the yellow thread that I used on my pillow? I had no idea it came in different sizes!

    Mmmm, pies. It’s Friday…that shop is open now. 😉

    • The yellow thread is size 8. That is my favorite size to use. The 5 is nice, but you have to use a bigger needle, and its a little harder to pull through the fabric.

Leave a Reply

