The Studio, Decorated, and as Clean as Its Gonna Get

For the first time, I have enough room to host my little group of sewing ladies! We meet together once a month to sew and chat. With the living room renovation, and the studio added on, there is enough room for all of us to fit into my house and have room to sew.

I decorated the walls last week:

The wall by the sewing machine. The empty frame is a bulletin board for inspirational thoughts or pics.

DSCN1148

The wall by my comfy chair:

DSCN1149

And one of my favorite quilts, by the back door:

DSCN1146

And this afternoon, I put most of the stuff away (SO GLAD I have a closet in this room!) So this is as clean as this room is probably going to get. All ready for the good times tomorrow!

DSCN1198

Oh, and this morning I put together my “big board” ironing board. So excited to have this. I have a little pull-out ironing board that I use for piecing, but this will be great to use when I am making my quilt sandwich, or just needing to iron larger pieces of fabric. You can see that I made it to fit on top of the little desk, so the desk can do double duty as a cutting and design table or an ironing board.

DSCN1200

My contractor was nice enough to pick up some plywood and cut it to fit. I made it only about 1 inch bigger around than the desk. Its 3/8″ plywood, so it is not too heavy or awkward to carry. I covered it with 4 layers of batting and stapled those in place, and then I laid it on the top layer of cotton fabric, and stapled that in place.

I am so blessed to have this new room that is dedicated to my art. It is a peaceful place to work.

4 thoughts on “The Studio, Decorated, and as Clean as Its Gonna Get

  1. Oh so pretty! I love it. 🙂

    In the “I Spy” game, I spy your beloved Perle cotton thread. And, a quilt I’ve never seen – the tree with the butterfly and bird. I like, I like! Also, I love that mini hanging below it – can you snap a close up and send it to me so I can emulate it (haha, notice I did not say STEAL) with the squares you left me?

  2. The tree quilt is done from the drawings that “my” little girl in Tanzania sends to me! I took it with me on my trip to Africa. Most of it is wool, so its easy to sew on raw edge. Yes, that little squares quilt was very fun to do! Makes me want to make another one! Picture is on its way!

Leave a Reply

