An Ambitious Schedule

I’ve set myself an ambitious schedule for the next couple of weeks. Later, I’ll tell you exactly why I am doing this. Today I was very pleased with myself–I put the finishing touches on THREE quilts, two of which had been “in the works” for months (if not years…) Oh, and the thing that I was most pleased about? I found a particular piece of fabric that’s been missing since I packed up all my stash before the studio was built!!

First, I put the binding on “Stars in the Garden.” I think I’ll call it that since it was a star workshop that I took with Alex Anderson in the beautiful gardens at Alden Lane Nursery. It finished at about 50″X65″.

Next up, I finished “Found,” from Psalm 139. It is part of the Psalms series. I really enjoy creating these quilts and choosing just the right Psalm for the particular quilt. Most of the time I use a modern version of the Bible for the words on my quilts. This particular verse is from a favorite Psalm of mine way back when I was in my 20’s and at that time I was reading the Revised Standard Version of the Bible. I don’t read that version much any more, but I do still like it. The language is very beautiful. This quilt is about 26″X40″.

DSCN1548

In case you can’t read it: “If I take the wings of the morning, and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea, even there thy hand shall lead me…”

Close-ups:

DSCN1553

DSCN1555

DSCN1556

And lastly I finished the latest cross quilt, from “The Signature of Jesus” series. Its a small quilt (about 10″X12″,) so I decided to embroider the whole thing. I haven’t added the words yet–I’ll decide where to put them and do that tonight. Each of these “Signature” quilts has the same words “GOD SO LOVED THE WORLD.”

DSCN1557

Close-up:

DSCN1562

Three quilts, three different sizes, all finished. Now that’s a good day!

4 thoughts on “An Ambitious Schedule

  1. Oh I just LOVE it when you post pics of your embroidered quilts! My very favorite thing that you do. Your color choices, the quirky designs, the texture it adds to the quilt.
    In fact last week I was scouring your blog to find a “sample” quilt so I could send the link to a friend who is just getting into quilting. I MUST send her this one, too. Just lovely!

  2. Quilts look fabulous. Love the verse you’ve chosen for your ‘Found’ quilt – I compared it to King James version & they’re virtually identical. Breaking it up into three makes you slow down & appreciate the beauty even more. If ever you feel like listing on Etsy…!! Have done more than 300 of my 1/4″ hexies – only a few more to go. Will zap you a pic of finished framed mini sampler if it turns out okay….!

Leave a Reply

