A Do-Over

 

Remember this quilt that I started way back when? And then I got the top put together here? I mentioned in that post that I was considering adding perle cotton embroidery to the ovals. And sure enough, I did do that.

DSCN1586

I thoroughly enjoyed just adding my simple random embroidery to those pieces.

DSCN1599

But after I had finished six of them, I still didn’t like the way it looked. I tried again, using only the running stitch, and connecting the ovals. Nope, I didn’t like that either.

DSCN1598

So I took all that embroidery out. And then I tried to figure out what I was going to do with this quilt. It was on the wall when I took out some little oval pieces to play with on a different quilt top. When I do my zig zag appliqué, I often cut the back out carefully and keep those pieces for a future project. So these were the leftover pieces from this particular quilt. And I thought, Hey…..

So I tried putting these ovals on top of the other ovals. And I liked it!

DSCN1742

Since the quilt sandwich had already been made and partially quilted, these motifs were zigzagged through all three layers of the quilt. I finished it with some “scribble circle” quilting.

DSCN1747

P.S. I realize that those pieces are not “ovals.” But I don’t know what to call them. My BF says it looks like a Fleur de Lis now. I think that name will stick!

14 thoughts on “A Do-Over

  1. OH MY GOSH!!! I can’t believe you took out the embroidery!!! I wouldn’t have had the nerve. But I have to say, what you came up with in the end looks really, really nice.

  2. Absolutely gorgeous! I love your work and I keep thinking I should try something like that, but have no idea where to start.

  3. I loved the idea of the embroidery. LOVED it. Was worried when you said you were taking it out. BUT, it was OMG when I saw your finished product. Awesome!!! Do you have any take away about why the embroidery did not work and where it might be more appropriate????

    • That is a very good question. I am not 100% sure why I did not think it was working. It could have been a case where you needed to just complete the work, and it would look fine. I was not willing to spend all that time doing that. It might have been my choices of thread color. I wonder if I had used more toned down thread colors if I would have liked it better. I just thought that the embroidery was taking away from, rather than adding to the original design.

Leave a Reply

