In The Studio and On My Lap

Here’s the latest work being done in the studio–

I made the giant nine patch quilt top into a sandwich. First I made a pieced back for it. I’ll have to show you that after the quilting is finished.

DSCN2598

And I started working on the little snowball quilt idea I had. You can see that most of the blocks are 3 inch finished blocks. Then I made six, nine, twelve, and fifteen inch blocks to insert into the quilt. I thought of a lot of different ways to do this, but I ended up using the original little sketch I had drawn in my journal. I love having my little journal with me!

DSCN2599

I still have a lot of the 3 1/2 inch squares that I pre-cut for this quilt. I have another little idea in the works for them.

In the evenings, I usually move into the living room and have some handwork in progress.

DSCN2596

I’m working on another of  The Psalms quilts. Here you can see I machine stitched in the ditch to stabilize the background. But then I decided to do kantha style stitching over the entire background.

IMG_1024

Well, you know all about my circle love 🙂

IMG_1026

IMG_1028

And I finished the rug made from fabric strips. These rugs are so cushy to stand on. I really like having them in the kitchen, and they wash very easily too.

DSCN2586

After being washed:

DSCN2600

Its just right in front of the stove. And the little girls like to lay on them when they are waiting for me to make their meals!

3 thoughts on “In The Studio and On My Lap

  1. Oh that rug is perfection! It looks so comfy and homey – and I love that the pups take ownership of it at times, too.

    The snowball quilt – how fun! Love your colors, love how you’ve turned squares into octagons, love how the solid colors flow and pop!

    And your kantha stitching…well, you know I adore that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

