Dabbling

Sometimes I have to write a post just to remind myself that I am getting work done. I titled this “Dabbling,” which I did indulge in a bit. But I also, I can see now, have progressed forward in my intentional art. And because of this blog, I can look back and see that it really was just a week ago that I posted about “switching gears,” because I wanted to get back to my rug hooking.

The thing about rug hooking–its that old saying “absence makes the heart grow fonder.” Suddenly, I get all sentimental, and miss my quilting horribly. And I think of all kinds of new, wonderful ideas that I MUST. TRY. RIGHT. NOW.

My box of little two inch squares was calling to me! What if I made long chains of the squares. Wouldn’t that be fabulous?

DSCN2836

Not.

Then, I got a card that had painted flowers on the front. MUST TRY to reproduce those flowers! I pulled out a huge stack of pink, coral, and golden solids. Free-hand cut the fabrics for these.

DSCN2837

Not that fabulous. Plus, I think its been done before. Like in the 70’s or something.

I had seen the work of this artist at the San Jose Museum of Quilts and Textiles. French Knots! Must do french knots!

I do think I started this more than a week ago, but I worked on it a lot this week:

DSCN2816

Of course, JUST french knots did not last very long. And I did not do all this embroidery in the past week. But I did do a significant amount of it, just as way of avoiding other stuff. DSCN2820

This is a fun little bit to do. Marianne Burr taught me this.

DSCN2819

I am always so inspired when I see the work of an artist who does everything by hand, like Marianne Burr and the french knot artist, and most recently, I came across this woman’s work. And then I start on a little piece like this, and inwardly I am whining, “but it takes soooooo lonnnnggg.” I can only laugh at myself.

And I did continue to work on the “what they said” series a bit. I am enjoying embroidering the lettering, and thinking about the thoughts behind the words, and how I can convey those thoughts and emotions through the way I do the lettering and through the simple machine quilting. (You can see I use the disappearing blue pen for some of my lettering. Don’t worry. It always disappears.)

DSCN2835

I made myself finish the quilting on the first one, and used Ricky Tims’ clever method of facing.

DSCN2813

And really, I did continue to do some rug hooking. Each section requires a bit of thought and of course a lot of angst. Is that color right? Is there enough contrast? Too much contrast? Am I just indulging my love of using ALL THE COLORS ALL THE TIME? 

DSCN2839

DSCN2838

Mostly I’m very happy with how its coming along 🙂

Wow. I am surprised at how much I have gotten done. I thought my week had been disrupted by OTHER STUFF, like exercise, gardening, and housecleaning. If you just insist on continuing on, it is surprising and rewarding to see the body of work that you can eventually produce.

5 thoughts on “Dabbling

  1. What a beautiful, creative week you had. I adore the french knots and the fussy cut flowers are lovely. The rug colors and design are wonderful. The 2″ square strips remind me of a picket fence with flowers growing on them. What if you sewed the strips together then embroidered over it to represent flowers and vines?
    Thank you for inspiring me to continue my stitching this weekend.
    Cheers.

    • Well I do like the picket fence idea. I had been thinking that I needed to add some light strips in there. Maybe if I alternated light and dark, it would be more fence-like?

  2. Your embroidery work is phenomenal. I’m tempted to ask you to help me design and start a VERY small piece for myself, next time we’re together. Although, I know my stitching is wonky – but your work is just so appealing!

  3. Thanks for re-introducing me to Judy Martin. Love her work and her words. Must go back and dive into her site again to recharge.

Leave a Reply

