New Directions

I hardly ever work so continuously on one project. But I really enjoyed this one. Yesterday I put a facing on it, and TaDa! It is finished! The title is “Seeing God.” I love the verse that inspired it: For ever since the world was created, people have seen the earth and sky. Through everything God made they can clearly see his invisible qualities–his eternal power and divine nature. 

DSCN3113

In between stitching, I spent a bit of time in the studio piecing two more tops that I want to do a lot of embroidery/hand stitching on. Here is the “pink” one. The verse inspiration for this one is: Every good thing given comes down to us from God our Father who created all the lights in the heavens. 

DSCN3111

I took a picture of this top with the pink threads next to it, so you can see it will be a little more dynamic once the thread work is added.

DSCN3110

And here is one where I used my box of little two inch squares and my bags of Cherrywood hand dyed fabrics. I love those bags! They sell pieces of a large cross section of their hand dyed colors cut into about 8X10 inch pieces. There are lots of things you can do with an 8X10 piece of fabric!

DSCN3107

Anyway, I got this far, and I can’t decide whether I want to put more 2 inch squares on the outer border. I love the brighter colors and the glow that they achieve.

DSCN3108

Any opinions out there?

5 thoughts on “New Directions

  1. “Seeing God” is a glorious piece-the colors just sink into my soul. I think you’re done with the 2″ squares in the border of the Cherrywood one-there are just enough now.

  2. The first two quilts are so simple and serene – I love them! And your perle cotton collection is very appealing!

    On the last quilt, I like the contrast with the additional squares. But then, I’m all about flashy colors, LOL.

  3. Love the blue one! It does say Heaven and Earth…..Like the 2″ squares just as the centerpiece. Seems brighter that way. I am all for bright.

Leave a Reply

