Quilting Fast and Slow

Well, I had ANOTHER little interruption to my normal schedule. I had volunteered to donate a quilt to Noah’s trainer for her organization’s annual fundraiser. She takes in dogs that are essentially hopeless, and turns them into good citizens so that they can be adopted! Anyway, I knew about this way ahead of time, but did I do anything? Noooo…. The event was on Sunday, and Saturday afternoon I was looking for something to donate. I found a top I had actually made into a sandwich, and thought, how fast can I quilt this? It was a challenge! I decided to try my walking foot one more time. I don’t like it very much, but I was hoping it would save me a bit of shoulder hunching so that I would be able to quilt for a longer period of time. I planned to do straight line quilting, varying the distance from 1 1/2 to 4″ apart. Nothing fancy, but it would make a sturdy quilt. I quilted steadily until about 7pm. Got up the next morning, and quilted the rest of it, and then put the binding on. Threw it in the washer and dryer, and left just in time to get to the event at 3pm! ….only to find that it was cancelled due to the aftermath of the fire… well, at least now I know how fast I can quilt.

This was the quilt I did with the leftover squares from my color experiment a while ago:

DSCN3376

For the back I used the very last of the leftover squares!

DSCN3378

And then it was back to work on my fire inspiration quilt. And there we have an example of some very slow quilting. The lettering I chose to be large, and I needed to do a double line of stitching with #5 perle cotton on each letter. I felt like I was moving in slow motion.

DSCN3401

Finally, the day came when the lettering was done, and I could move on to the quilting. That I could do in a day, I was pretty sure. Wrong… to start with, I chose a thread that I really liked, but it was #12 thread. I put a metallic needle on the machine (larger eye for the  larger thread,) and started in. You just have to work slow with the large thread.

DSCN3399

After doing the one tree with this thread, I decided that was enough of that. I chose different threads and went back to work. Ahhh, that was much better.

DSCN3403

Still, I had to work fairly slowly, as it was fussy quilting, working around the lettering.

DSCN3404

Now, this morning, on my third day of quilting on this quilt, I can see the finish line. Hopefully, I will be able to share the finished quilt with you this weekend!

2 thoughts on “Quilting Fast and Slow

  1. I love this quilt from your leftover squares. I’m cleaning out my sewing room right now, and have found a lot of leftover pieces. I may do something very similar to this. Thank you for the idea.

    MaryAnn Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. You have been on an adventure lately! I gasped when I read of the cancelled fundraiser after all your work-groan! #12 thread is pretty tough to work with-looks like it might have been the Sulky Blendables-they are pretty hard to use. I love the impact of the double stitching-worth the effort. Looking forward to the finished piece!

Leave a Reply

