2015 Year in Review

Here are the quilts I completed in 2015. There were a number of quilt tops that I finished, and techniques that I explored, but in the end I decided that I would only include completely finished projects.

In February of 2015 I exhibited a number of my quilts at Oak Hills Church gallery–quilts from the two series “The Signature of Jesus,” and “The Psalsm.” I made several of these small crosses at the beginning of the year.

DSCN2518

And this was also a last minute finish for the exhibition:

DSCN2536

I made this small piece for special friends who were celebrating their 60th wedding anniversary.

DSCN2685

I really like this next quilt–made using my “zig zag technique.” I’m using it on the foot of my bed right now.

DSCN2667

Another in The Psalms series, finished after the above mentioned exhibition. This is one of the few quilts where I have done the kantha style stitching across the complete background of the quilt. It is very time consuming, but effective, I think.

DSCN2736

The nine patch quilt. I worked a long time on this one, and finally finished it last year. But I don’t actually like it that much–its a little too jarring for me.

DSCN2707

 

I started a series called “What They Said,” and only got as far as finishing these next two pieces. There are another 15 just waiting to be finished! Hoping to get to that soon.

DSCN2813

DSCN2925

A little experimental stitching:

DSCN2875

And I finished the Kandinski inspired quilt that I had started the previous fall with Rosalie Dace.

IMG_1163

I was inspired to try a new method of using the kantha stitching.

DSCN3113

“For ever since the world was created, people have seen the earth and sky. Through everything God made they can clearly see his invisible qualities–his eternal power and divine nature.”

 

DSCN3590

“Every good thing given comes down to us from God our Father who created all the lights in the heavens.”

And I finished a little lap quilt that is one of my all time favorites!

DSCN3294

I couldn’t help myself. I made several of these rag rugs.

DSCN2989

I found and finished this little project.

DSCN3433

“Be Filled with Joy.” Another experiment with stitching on a quilt.DSCN3337

Finished a quilt top for my gardener’s new granddaughter.

DSCN3492

And the Fire Quilt. Inspired by a worship service at our church held while the Butte Fire was still burning in our community.

DSCN3412

“A Closer Look.” Just fun fun fun. Using my little box of two inch squares, my zig zag technique, my baggie of Cherrywood fabrics, and a lot of perle cotton embroidery thread!

DSCN3548

“His Kingdom Will Never End.” The last quilt I finished, and probably the one I think is my best composition.

DSCN3571

I finished the year as I do many times. Quietly hand quilting on an older quilt top. Dreaming of all the new projects and techniques that I want to try in the coming year. Wishing all the best for you and your families in 2016!

DSCN3647

11 thoughts on “2015 Year in Review

  1. Thank you for the pictorial journey through your incredible accomplishments for the year. I always love your work. I am especially drawn to your spiritual pieces. May God bless you in the new year.

  2. An amazing body of work for one year, Debbie! I would be hard pressed to pick a favourite but if I had to…..I think it would be the experimental stitched one with flowers, “Be filled with Joy”. And, the pink and brown one just screams to be cuddled up with. Have you tried your new rug tool yet?

    • Thanks Kris. My good rug hooking buddy bought the Be Filled with Joy piece! and no, I have been too sick to try the rug tool. But this morning I watched the video. Contemplating cutting a bunch of 2″ strips 🙂

  3. Debby….what a wonderful 2015 journey you have had. Thank you for always inspiring us spiritually and artistically. Happy New Year to you and your little doggies. mickie

  4. Beautiful work! I am trying to do more “slow stitching” and am very interested in your Kantha stitching. I am finding it very difficult to actually quilt with the pearl cotton.
    Thanks for the eye-candy!
    Kathy

    • Kathy, I’ve written elsewhere about how I do the kantha stitching. Most of it is embroidery, done only through the top layer and the batting. When you are going through all three layers, having the right size needle is very important. Try various needles to see what works best for you.

  5. I love so many different details about your quilts – for example, how you made the stitching resemble wood in the “carpenter’s son” quilt. You are just so creative, it boggles my mind (and I’ve seen you in action!). I like your nine-patch quilt, but I can see how different it is from your other works, and how it must throw you. I have that happen with some knitting projects – on an objective level I know they’re perfectly fine, but they just don’t feel right for me.

Leave a Reply

