Rug Camp!

Cambria Pines Rug Camp is just a wonderful experience, all the way around. Its also fun to go to the same place for a period of time (I think I’ve gone six out of the last 7 years.) You get to know people a little  bit, and look forward to seeing them every year.

My teacher this year was Donna Hrkman. She is a wonderful artist who has chosen rug hooking as the medium to express her work. She specializes in portraits, so I was always a little too intimidated to take her as a teacher. I didn’t want to do portraits, but I admired her work a great deal.

This is one of her most well-known pieces “Steam Punk Reverie.”

IMG_2595

Look at the detail in this portrait of an Indian boy. To do this monochromatic rug, she dyed nine shades of the same color.

IMG_2594

This is her newest rug, a portrait of her son. I LOVE the way she superimposed him on top of a scene of the downtown area where he works and plays and lives.

IMG_2589

Okay. So it was finally time to start my portrait of Noah. Donna spent individual time with each student to get them started. I had to start on the eyes, which I was dreading. But with a little encouragement from Donna (and also, she drew in the highlights in his eyes,) I got started. I was really so very happy with how they came out.

IMG_2582

The next day, I filled in with more colors, trying to choose the right shade for each area.

IMG_2586

The NEXT day, I wanted to start working on the “natural” side of him. I had a lot of natural wools with me. I chose eleven of them, and then pre-cut strips so I would have a palette to work from. This is the same thing I do when I am starting an improv quilt. If I just keep the large pieces of fabric in front of me, I have a hard time starting. But if I cut strips of the fabric in the sizes I think I might use, it is a lot easier to make the next step.

IMG_2585

And here is what four days of concentrated rug hooking looks like. I was so pleased with what I was able to accomplish. I still think his face looks too fat. In looking at the earlier photos, I think I can see the problem. There will be some unhooking soon, I think.

IMG_2603

On Wednesday, we have a rug show. Everyone brings their rugs, and they clear out the dining hall and put up a wonderful display. I was pleased to see my big rug displayed with this nice group of rugs.

IMG_2587

 

And thus ends Cambria Pines Rug Camp for another year. I have so many quilting ideas that have been percolating and have been put on the back burner for a while. I am excited to get started on some of those projects. But I will set Noah up at my rug hooking station, and will continue to work on him.

11 thoughts on “Rug Camp!

  1. All of the rugs are incredible! I love how your big rug looks with all of the other ones, and the Noah rug is coming out just perfect. You know I have to ask…will there be a QUEEN rug next? 😉

    • I had to think for a minute. There is already a Queen rug in the works. I did one of all three dachshunds when they were all still alive, and then I got stuck. It is really good of the dachshunds, so I want to finish it. I almost brought it to camp this year. I think after Noah is done, I will get that out and try to figure out what I want to do with it.

  2. Welcome back! I really like how the colors in Noah are working out. What fun! And now since I’ve made a rare appearance in this blog, I have to scroll down and look for a couple small pieces of yours that I have fallen for.

  3. Your Noah brought tears to my eyes!!! I love him!!! We had a yellow lab for 14+ years and I so miss him. You have captured the same loving trusting eyes that he had when he looked at us………………….

    • Wow, that is really a compliment. Several people at camp thought the picture of Noah was a lab, since it was only a head shot.

Leave a Reply

