What I Did First

When I come home from a trip, or when I have finished a large project, sometimes I don’t know what to do next. I used to worry that I was losing my mojo, and felt a lot of pressure to “get right back in there.” But after this trip, I felt relaxed about the whole thing. For a few days I concentrated more on working in the garden and exercising, something I hadn’t done much on this trip. That was good for me.

But I know that it is best to keep working consistently at your art. I have several projects to complete, and I have fairly well-formulated plans for some new projects. Plus, there’s “Noah!” But I chose a small embroidered piece that was almost done. I was pretty sure I could finish it in a day.

It was this small piece. I had finished up the embroidery on it (remember, it was already a quilt sandwich itself,) and I had attached a large border of a really nice textured fabric to it, added batting to the whole thing, and basted it well, so I could hand quilt it.

DSCN4144

Well, that did not go so well. Even though it was well basted, it was bunchy in spots. More bunchy than I am willing to put up with. I threw it in a corner and left for Cambria.

When I came back, I knew what I needed to do. I UNDID all that hand quilting! The batting was reusable, but I threw away the muslin backing. I headed into the studio to find an appropriate backing. There on the cutting table was this piece of fabric! I have put this piece of fabric in the “to go” pile several times. But I always rescue it, because it is a really nice Japanese fabric. Its just that it was dark and dull colors. This little piece was a bit dark and dull. This fabric would be perfect.

DSCN4202

As I laid it out to cut it the right size, I had the idea that if I cut it large enough, I could use it as an extra large binding, folded over from the back. I put together the sandwich, revved up the Juki, and went to work. I simply quilted along the block lines within the embroidered piece, and then changed thread colors, and did a simple grid on the light “frame” fabric. I carefully cut the batting one inch from the edge, and then the backing another two inches from that, so I could fold it over twice to make a nice firm binding, and I hand stitched it carefully to the front.

DSCN4198

Plans don’t always go this well. This little piece almost ended up in the discard bin, several times! The whole successful process tickled me so much I wanted to share it with you. Sometimes you do need to stop working on a project, but many times you just need to continue on, and see what happens.

When I walk by this piece now, I see a lot of blank space on that surround. Perhaps a little more embroidery? 🙂

10 thoughts on “What I Did First

  1. Love the thought to continue on with projects, even when you do not feel like it. My closet is full of 1/2 completed project. Thanks for encouraging me to finish!

    • Well, I have a lot of half finished projects in the closet too. Some of them I’m afraid I don’t even know what I was trying to accomplish when I started them!

  2. I like the blank space. Good for you for folding the back around and using it as binding. I did that on one of my ‘first’ quilts and a woman told me that was a no-no, that you had to sew a binding on separately. I think we can do these things anyway that pleases us.

    • Oh those silly quilt police! It doesn’t always work as well, but this was one of the tidiest bindings I’ve ever done!

  3. This turned out quite nicely. The wrap-around binding picks up the circle theme on the quilted piece. Please tell us what size your quilts are when you post…thanks

  4. I really like this piece. I too have items that I need to finish. I now need to get back to my quilts. I love all your work.

Leave a Reply

