Obsession

I don’t know where it came from, this obsession to make a “kantha blanket.” I have a little niggling thought that it might be because of answering the question so many times “what is kantha stitching?” and always being careful to explain that my stitching is “kantha inspired.”If I did a blanket, I would have something more “authentic” to show people.

So after my failure at the last scrappy quilt top, I set about making a more organized, partially planned, scrap quilt for the kantha blanket. Like I do for most projects, I chose a large variety of fabrics that I like, and then narrowed them down to fabrics that might work together. And set a few parameters for the piecing–Longish rectangles, 4 inches wide by about 7 or 10 inches long. I would insert a few squares with my “crosses” and my circles. And I went to town working on this quilt top.

In just a few days I finished it, and with the finish came a deep sense of despair. This “planned scrappy” quilt top was not much better than my really really scrappy top. What is wrong with me? I can’t even plan a simple scrappy quilt. Which then devolved into Nothing I’ve ever done is really any good at all. Oh, it was bad.

Fortunately for her, my best friend was not available for conversation that day. By the next day I had decided to follow my own advice, and “continue on.” She concurred. I’m not sure if covering this entire piece with stitching lines 1/4 inch apart will help. But it will be in the spirit of kantha–using what I have and making something useful of it.

In the meantime, I mentioned to my mom what I was doing, and she started asking a ton of questions about kantha. So I got out my big book of Kantha, and what do you know–what I am doing now is still not very kantha-like in the traditional sense. We’ll just call it a modern take on kantha πŸ™‚

The sandwich is made, and I am happily stitching away on my kantha blanket.

I decided to not show you the entire piece. Any hint of sympathy or disapproval might send me into a downward spiral from which I might never recover :)

I decided to not show you the entire piece. Any hint of sympathy or disapproval might send me into a downward spiral from which I might never recover πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “Obsession

  1. I always want to eat whenever you talk about a sandwich…OH, not that kind of sandwich. Doesn’t matter. Still want one.

    Honestly, I’m amazed that what translates from your brain to finished product almost always seems to work for you; I think you have such a good feel for colors and patterns that when something doesn’t go quite right, it has to be an odd feeling, and I get your angst, however unwarranted. I’m sure you’ll feel the love for this Kantha (inspired) blanket soon enough. πŸ™‚

    • That’s so funny about the sandwich. I never was much of a sandwich-eater, I guess that’s why I don’t think of eating when I say that. Now, if I were making quilt CAKES all the time, I might have a little problem :

      Thanks for the kind words. Stitching away this morning….

  2. Debby….stitch on dear lady….you ALWAYS come up with a solution and it is better than anything you could have planned. Can’t wait to see what you end up with. All in all, I have NEVER seen anything that resembles a failure. I always try to remember that I am creating stuff to please ME and if others like it, great. mm

  3. I agree with your other readers. Stitch on! From your photo, your quilt looks great. My standard advice for scrap quilt making is that each scrap should work with the others as well as hold its own. And of course practice. The more of these you make the better you will get. I am sensing some sort of disconnect between the reality of the quilt and the vision in your head. What is the difference between the two?

  4. And after reading and thinking about this, I am reminded that quilting and creating are most of all, to be fun. If we like it, then that’s all that matters. No Quilt Police. And I like your quilt piece, especially the combination of that yellow flower, the dark flowered fabric next to it, and the red background print below the yellow flower.

Leave a Reply

