In the Meantime…

While I was working on making my kantha blanket top, I was without a hand stitching project. I found this little sketch in my notebook and thought it would be a fun embroidery project.

DSCN4295

I found an interesting dark fabric to use as the top, and made a sandwich. I decided to “draw” the outline with black perle cotton. In the past I have machine stitched outlines. Once I got into it, I enjoyed this process. If you’ll look close, you will see the outline I drew and the outline I embroidered are not exactly the same. I wasn’t embroidering to scale, and I ran out of room somewhere in the middle. No biggie.

My favorite part–choosing the embroidery threads! And, I found a little case I had gotten at the thrift store, and it is perfect for the threads and the entire project will fit in there.

IMG_2624

I chose a fairly limited palette of colors to work with, and am challenging myself to stick with just these colors.

IMG_2625

Stitching so far:

DSCN4287

DSCN4285

6 thoughts on “In the Meantime…

  1. This is such a lovely piece, your choice of fabric and threads are spot on. Love the great case you found for your work. I look forward to seeing this piece progress.

Leave a Reply

