And Lastly…

 

While patiently awaiting the return of my Juki, I started work on a new series. It started out with inspiration by this weaver. The more I looked at her work, the more I saw the “quilty-ness” of it. Then I started drawing little sketches in my journal. And I decided to let myself play with my collection of hand-dyed fabric–some Cherrywood, some Ricky Tims’, and even some of my own hand-dyes.

dscn4718

These are all really simple designs. But I enjoyed creating them, and choosing “just the right colors” for each. The small pieced squares that I am using in each were created on my Colorado retreat!

dscn4717

I am going to use these pieces for a series on “the character of God.” I wanted to use characteristics that most people could relate to. And then I found an article where the author made two lists–one of characteristics that applied only to God, and the other of characteristics that He shared with man. That helped to define what I was thinking about.

dscn4716

So although they are simple, they also provide a somewhat blank canvas that I can use to embellish with quilting or embroidery just the way I want.

dscn4715

dscn4719

dscn4714

P.S. Just got word that my Juki has been shipped! Yahoo!

8 thoughts on “And Lastly…

  1. They are raw edge, zig-zagged on top, no fusible. I like working this way. The turquoise top–every piece is zig-zagged to the whole turquoise top. If the zig-zagged pieces are large enough, I cut the back out, so there is only one layer of fabric. Of course, I don’t do this with the thin white strips.

Leave a Reply

