Yo Yo’s!

Here is a project that I have been working on for YEARS! And by that I mean–I started it, and then got bored so it went in the closet. And then maybe a year later, I ran out of handwork, and thought–Yo Yo’s! And got them out and worked on them for a while until something more interesting came along, and back into the closet they went. And on it went, and still goes.

The project started with a group of fabrics that I really liked, in colors that I don’t usually choose–mostly browns with a few greens thrown in. And originally, I think I saw some scarves made out of yo yo’s and that is what I wanted to do. I started joining the yo yo’s into blocks 4X6. And I liked them so much that I thought, I’ll make a quilt! Do you know how long it takes to make yo yo’s? I timed myself last night. One yo yo takes 5 minutes, and so 24 of them takes 2 hours, and that does not include sewing them into their 4X6 block!

Anyway, I kept thinking about combining them with little “quiltlets.” Like make mini quilts the same size as the yo yo blocks and alternate these quiltlets with the yo yo blocks. I thought I would use the same group of fabrics I had been working on, and it would just be very scrappy.

When I finished the kantha blanket, I got the yo yo’s out again. And this time, I had the thought to use one unifying fabric for the alternate blocks. I got out this favorite dark fabric, and I LOVE the way the yo yo’s look on it.

dscn4766

So now I am a little more motivated to work on my yo yo’s in the evening. If I want to make a quilt 54″ X 63″, I need 54 yo yo blocks. (I am using the “small” yo yo maker. The finished size is about 1 inch.) I have 12 made. I am not going to do the math of how many hours that will be. I will just keep making yo yo’s between projects, and someday I will have a yo yo quilt 🙂

And kind of along the same lines (taking a long time to complete a work) but completely different–watch this short video of this incredible artist at work. He took 3 1/2 years to complete this. It took my breath away.

6 thoughts on “Yo Yo’s!

  1. You are right about that incredible artist. WOW

    Now back to you and your work. You deserve a WOW. Does your mind ever rest? I guess I should have said fingers……(SMILE) Anyway I will be awaiting the finished (or almost finished work in progress) report. The dark fabric makes the yoyo’s pop. Love the contrast.

  2. Good for you for persevering on! I like the alternate blocks alot. Kind of puts some things in perspective with the artist Ikeda. Thanks for the link – interesting work!

  3. Are you familiar with Racheldaisy? She just won Best of Show at the Australian Modern Quilt Show with a quilt made with giant yoyos. I recently discovered her myself.
    Kathy

  4. Thank you for pointing us to the video about Artist Ikeda Manabu. If ever there were an artist exemplifying the aphorism that persistence pays, he is it. Lovely.
    Neame

Leave a Reply

