Projects and Project Boxes

I am a multiple project type of gal. I like having multiple projects to work on. But sometimes I get carried away and the projects multiply faster than I can work on them. And that can be overwhelming. That’s when the project boxes come in handy. I can put some of the projects neatly away for a bit. They are all ready for when the mood strikes, but they are not laying around making me feel guilty for the way I choose to work.

IMG_3303

Recently I saw a tiny picture somewhere. It was just a simple quilt, a kind of a square in a square, and I thought, that would be a neat way to use my kantha stitching. It seemed to be a scrappy quilt, and the main square was large with the outer square being more of a frame (where I would embellish with kantha stitching.) Here, like this:

IMG_3300

So I went out and went through my stash, and had great fun cutting out hunks of all my favorite fabrics, and then carefully cutting them into 6 inch squares. I have enough to make each block a different fabric!

IMG_3294

As I cut the squares, I had great fun re-visiting old and new favorite fabrics. It occurred to me that this is a great idea for a memory quilt. So many memories are attached to my fabric–where I was when I bought it, who I was with, and sometimes even the quilts that I have made with the fabric.

Here are some of the other projects I am working on presently. And even more are in project boxes…

Here is the piece that I showed you bits of previously. I have to take long breaks with this one to figure out what I want to do next. So far, each time it seems like “adding more” is the best solution…

IMG_3299

I got out the ten little pieces that I intended for the “Characteristics of God” series. I am making them into sandwiches and embroidering the words on them.

IMG_3301

And in the evenings, this one seems to have taken preeminence, because it is so enjoyable to stitch on with that DMC Coton Floche thread. I choose one block to work on, and then choose the threads that I want to use. It usually takes an evening to stitch one block.

IMG_3302

 

6 thoughts on “Projects and Project Boxes

  1. I always find your work inspiring, and I love the circular Kantha stitching. You inspired me to start doing Kantha stitching. You have a good solution for your WIPs… we all know you do complete lots of quilts, so it’s okay to have WIPs laying around. I try not to have more than one unfinished project, but sometimes I just have to take a break from a large project and do something different, fun, and easy. I’m taking a break right now from a large quilt and making a patchwork of sort casserole pad or hot pad, it could be used for either, it looks really nice. I used a combination of fabrics that I wouldn’t have used before.

  2. I should adopt your project box idea for my knitting – it might make me feel more organized, like I’m just setting you aside (I’m looking at YOU, cardigan) for a little while, rather than have it stuffed in a bag with extra yarn floating around in my yarn cart.

    Also, that Kantha piece is amazing. I agree, it IS saying “add more” please. Mostly because you come up with the neatest little extras – the little solid geometric bits tucked here and there are so cool. And of course you know I love your Kantha circles. ::swoon::

  3. Deb….the Kantha quilt is just unbelievably beautiful. This one is competition worthy….glad to see what you’ve been doing lately. mickie

  4. I just found your blog and love your embroidery. You say you use #3 and #5 perle cotton. What kind of needle do you use? I have a hard time finding a needle that works with them — if the eye is big enough, then the needle isn’t sharp enough.

    • Hi Maddie. I use#5 and#8 perle cotton. My favorite needles are a#24 chenille needle. It has a large eye and a very sharp point. When I use that needle, I use the Lo-ran needle threader. But the needle I use most often with the#8 perle cotton is a self threading needle. The eye is just right to pop the#8 thread through. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

