My Flower Garden

Remember this quilt? That’s the one I made in class with Katie Pasquini Masopust. I pre-cut a few too many strips for that quilt.

DSCN4952

So I used the leftovers to make this simple quilt. I didn’t really enjoy making this quilt. But it will be a nice baby quilt for someone.

IMG_3126

I thought I had used up all the leftover strips with that quilt. One day I went out to clean up the studio a bit and opened a plastic bin. What??? More leftover strips? Well, I finally remembered that they were the smaller  strips (1 1/4 inch) and I had planned to put them in a ziplock bag to give to whomever wanted them.

I looked at them for a few minutes and thought–why not play around with them and see what I come up with.

This is a quilt I made a long time ago, and I really like it. It was the inspiration for how I decided to use these small strips, and how to construct the top.

DSCN5321

As I went along, I decided it would be like my own flower garden, that was constructed a bit at a time, fitting things together as we went along.

DSCN5320

I didn’t add any more strips to what I already had. I chose a few flower and leaf prints to add to the “garden.”

DSCN5319

When I quilted it, I used straight lines and pebbles for the “paths” in my garden. I just outlined the flower and leaf prints.

DSCN5318

This is my favorite of all three quilts that I made from those strips.

DSCN5316

 

 

5 thoughts on “My Flower Garden

  1. As I looked at this post, “Ode to Joy” was playing on a PBS program I was listening to. My first thought was “This is a perfect title for this quilt.” The flower prints make this quilt explode with joy. I love it. mickie

  2. Oh wow, this is so cool! I was following along with the close ups, and then when I got to the entire quilt picture, it was like BAM, I can totally see your garden! Love it!!

  3. The last one is my favorite too, and I’m not just saying that. A close second is the quilt with the dark/birds background. I really like the uneven sides of the patchwork pieces. It looks like a quilt on top of a quilt.

Leave a Reply

