Something Old, Something New

DSCN5465

Something old: I washed an older quilt and put it on my bed to fold it up, and thought I would share it with you. I call this quilt “I Live in Pine Grove.” I do live in Pine Grove, and at the time I made this quilt there was a lot of different fabric with pine trees and pine branches and pine needles on it. I had so much fun collecting all the different pine fabrics. I had just a few fabrics with birds on them, and I made all the blocks and then had fun fitting them together. I hand quilted it. And it is still a quilt that I like very much.

DSCN5466

DSCN5467

A new finish: After agonizing over each area–should I add more stitching here? What about this area? How should I do the background? I finally just took the plunge, and finished all the stitching on this quilt. My BF was here for a one day visit, and she asked if I had considered turning it sideways. I hadn’t, but the more I looked at it that way, the more I thought that was the way it should be!

DSCN5476

I wanted to wash it before I blocked it and finished the edge, so I zigzagged around the edge and washed it very gently. And then blocked it on my design wall. I thought about how I wanted to finish the edge, and I decided that I want to do a hand-finished edge. I will do a satin stitch with perle cotton all around the edge. I am going to use the ecru thread that I used for the background. It is busy enough–no need to add any more color to it.

After I cut the edges to their final size, I stitched very carefully around the edge, just to keep it nice and neat while I hand stitch the edge.

DSCN5479

I did enjoy using chain stitch to color in some of the solid areas. Close-up of stitching:

DSCN5481

DSCN5480

Something new: And then I wanted to play and make another small quilt to embroider. I LOVE the piece that I used for the What They Said series:

dscn4528

And so I chose some new fabrics, and made the same block, only larger. Starting with one background fabric, you cut and insert strips and then a circle and then more strips, etc. Very fun to do. I want to explore this more!

DSCN5482

Of course now that I’ve got it done and the sandwich made and basted and all, its like I get all shy, and I don’t know how I want to stitch it! But I’ll just think about it for a bit. That’s part of the fun, isn’t it?

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Something Old, Something New

  1. Well, all I can say is, “WOW! Please let me know what you name your embroidered circle quilt. It is exciting for me to see how you are creating beautiful quilts in various styles.

    Marianne marianneburr.com marianneburrnews.wordpress.com

    >

  2. Oh I love the Pine Grove quilt! And I was just up there for the Sierra Gold Guild. And yes to the embroidered quilt sideways!

  3. Your pine-y quilt is wonderful…..evokes all that coziness we quiltmakers love!! Thanks so much for sharing your beatiful creations (I’m in awe of your ability to do all that hand work…..sigh………)

Leave a Reply

