A Colorful Interlude

You all know I need a little color in my life, right? After working so long on Hallelujah, I allowed myself some colorful play. Mostly meaningless, but fun-to-me projects. Remember this saying that I said I wanted to embroider? Well, one night, I just got a piece of cloth and a blue disappearing ink pen, and went for it.

dust-if-you-must

Here’s my version. Can you see where I personalized it? Its not finished yet, but getting there. Had to share!

dscn4597

Embroider and a needle, instead of paint and a paintbrush.

dscn4599

I recently ran across a new blog, and on the first time I visited, she was doing a giveaway. I was really impressed with one of her paintings, and said that if I won, that was the one I would choose. If you can believe it, I won that giveaway! And so I decided that I would embroider a version of that painting.

dscn4602

A pen instead of a pencil, and I fashioned it after a special fountain pen that my dad had given me.

dscn4600

I was going to make a regular cake instead of the cupcake, but it was just too cute. I left it as-is.

dscn4601

And of course I had to add flowers to the seed stems.

dscn4598

Here’s my design wall. I have been working occasionally on Noah, and then I need to take it off the frame and look at it for a while to see if I’m still on track. The two big blocks are just the start of that Genesis quilt I want to do. And the other blocks were what I let myself play around with on Friday.

dscn4594

I just like making these cross-cut blocks. These are a lot bigger than the last set I did. I wonder if that means I’m on my way to making another big quilt??

dscn4596

Last weekend I went down to Quilting in the Garden. I was pretty excited to see my quilt (#74) hanging at the front display right at the entrance to the show!

fullsizerender

And here is another of my quilts (the cross) hanging on one of the magnificent old oaks.

fullsizerender-2

It was really fun to go to this show, and to see my quilts hanging. Its probably not the best venue for my quilts, because they are small, and you can’t really see the details–they are hung pretty high. But what’s not to enjoy about walking around a beautiful nursery and looking at quilts at the same time?

5 thoughts on “A Colorful Interlude

  1. Oh my goodness Debby, I LOVE your new ‘dust if you must’ quilt!!!!! Of if your work looks amazing! I was able to go the the Quilt in the Garden show last year and I loved it! It is a delightful show in every way!

  2. I love your spin on saying – the personalization, the bits of fabric among the stitching, the special incorporation of the painting – just when I think I’ve seen my favorite piece that you’ve done, you do something even more amazing!

    Your quilts look so pretty hanging in the trees. đŸ™‚

Leave a comment