Quilt Show!

IMG_8596

I figured out how to make a slide show! So proud of myself. So here are the quilts I have hanging in the Art and Soul Gallery in Oak Hills Church. I will be there this Sunday from 9am to about 3 pm. If you’re in the area I’d love to see you.

This is the description of how I started this Housetop Quilt project:

The Housetop quilts began as a simple challenge: to work entirely with solid colored fabrics. I had never worked with solids before, as there were so many beautiful prints that I loved. I looked and looked, and finally decided to make a ‘housetop style’ quilt. “Housetop” simply refers to the block pattern/structure that is used. It is similar to the more familiar “log cabin” block. The Housetop pattern was made famous by the Quilters of Gees Bend, a group of African American women in rural Alabama. I had the privilege of meeting these women several years ago, and was so inspired by them. In spite of their difficult lives, they made beautiful art out of just what they had on hand. And more than that, I was inspired by the way they seamlessly integrated their faith in God into every part of their lives.

So as I started on the first housetop quilt, I happened to read a verse in the Bible that I had never noticed before. “Jesus said, ‘What I have whispered in your ear, shout it from the housetops.’ ” Hmmm. Isn’t that interesting? I am making a housetop quilt, and here is a verse using that same term. I also thought to myself, Hmmmph. You never shout anything from the housetops. What is wrong with you? I thought about these two things–the housetop quilt and Jesus words– all day long. And then it occurred to me. I COULD PUT JESUS’ WORDS INTO MY QUILTS. And that was the beginning of The Housetop Quilt Project. It has been a wonderful year of re-discovering old favorite verses, and finding new-to-me beautiful words of God to put into my quilts in various ways and using various techniques.

And here is a link to the slide show:

Housetop Quilt Project

6 thoughts on “Quilt Show!

  1. What a wonderful series of quilts you have created. They a beautiful and unique and I admire how you have ventured forth to explore and experiment with each quilt in this series.

  2. I knew you were busy, but I couldn’t picture HOW MANY quilts you made for this show – wow!!! They are just incredible and I love the backstories behind each one. Thanks for putting together the slideshow for those of us who can’t get out to see it in person.

  3. We came across your website and enjoyed seeing your show. Your work is wonderful. I also have a question about one of your earlier quilts. Could you please email me at Quilt Inspiration? Thank you! ~Marina

  4. Truly loving your quilts because they are very real and feel close to my own heart and you express God’s truth in a very powerful way for me..I appreciate your work very much, thank-you for sharing it with us..your life is a great encouragment.

Leave a comment