The Never Ending Box of Little Squares

It all started with one of those watercolor quilts. I signed up for a workshop, and dutifully cut a LOT of two inch squares from my stash. That was FUN! (My BF says I just like cutting up fabric. I think its because I like working with color so much.)

I made that watercolor quilt. I like what I made, but I didn’t particularly enjoy the process of creating the watercolor quilt. The technique for that quilt involved fusing, and I am not particularly a fan of fusing.

IMG_9052

Hmmm, what to do, what to do, with all these little squares?

IMG_9044

I did a color block quilt that turned out to look like an empty grave to me. I named it “He Is Not Here.” Ā You can see more of that quilt here.

IMG_9053

I used those little squares to make the prototype for the double wedding ring quilt. You can see that quilt here.

IMG_8369

All the while, the never ending box of little squares never seemed to get any smaller. (Could it be because I just kept adding to it?)

IMG_9046

Right before I started the Housetop Quilt Project I experimented with sewing those squares together crooked. Here’s the result. I really like this quilt. I had almost forgotten about it. When I got it put together it had a very crooked edge. Instead of cutting away so much of that work, I decided to use my trusty zig zag stitch to stitch it just the way it was to a background fabric.

IMG_9054

Close-up, showing the zig zag edge:

IMG_9056

I had almost forgotten about my box of little squares, until Melody started her “Quilt Along With Melody” this month. She is doing a scrappy Trip Around the World quilt. I didn’t want to cut strips for the project, so I got out my box and started making the blocks for the Trip Around the World quilt. It takes me about 10 minutes to make one of these blocks. Its very fun to look through my little squares and put them together just so. They are a little addicting!

IMG_9050

I thoroughly recommend you starting a box of squares for yourself. You just never know when you might need a little square or two.

9 thoughts on “The Never Ending Box of Little Squares

    • Ha! That’s right! I was trying to remember some of the other quilts I’ve done with the little squares. there were quite a few in your quilt!

  1. What a treat to see these together in one post! Can’t stop oohing and ahhing!
    Is the first one finished? The Watercolor quilt? Sorry if that’s a dumb question… I don’t know that much about quilting, and don’t know the purpose of the fusing. Like… does it make it stiff, so you don’t do the background stitching? Anyway, I am always so pleasantly surprised when I see one that is so lovely, then you go and do that amazing design stitching in the background (like in the gorgeous He Is Not Here), and it just gets better and better.

    Anyway, the watercolor quilt is so lovely! You have such an eye for color, design and just plain drama in a piece. šŸ™‚

  2. No that’s not a dumb question at all. It is not finished, but the fusible/stabilizer that it is on is pretty thick and stiff, so it almost looks finished. Thank you as always for your thoughtful comments, Loretta!

  3. I love your work! I am a quilter who isn’t as much into precision, and definitely more into the expression! I hope I may work from your ideas? Just for personal use, but I will share the source. I tried some iron on lite interfacing as a stablizer last winter when I was in the back country and couldn’t get to the store. Worked great for machine applique. xo

  4. Yes, please do use whatever ideas come your way! That’s what’s so great about quilting, isn’t it? So many ways to do different things–its fun to try new ones sometimes.

  5. Debby – I used to follow your OTHER blog before life got busy and my reading of wellness blogs fell to the wayside (I blogged under sybilizedliving). Imagine my surprise when I found your quilting blog on Quilt Inspiration! I’m so glad you are well AND retired. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

